The madness of Sports in March

So here it is, my first blog! So how about March so Far? We are almost half way through the month and already so much in the sports world has happened! Whether it has to deal with the NFL, or college basketball,  NBA, or spring training for baseball. 

               I’m going to touch base on a few major points amongst these topics but before that I want to give a brief sports history of myself so you can better know me! So since I was knee high I had my foot in the door in multiple sports, with my favorite being football. I started playing when I was ten years old, my favorite childhood memory I will never forget is when I was ten years old my father had bought me a field goal post about ten feet high made of plastic and I had it set up in my yard for about three years straight. I would go outside sunshine, rain, or snow and would play by myself throwing the ball in the air and catching the ball and running to score touchdowns for hours. Sometimes I would make the games exciting by “dropping” the ball and having some crazy fourth quarter comebacks. I would even be broadcasting the game out loud, just having so much fun. Thats where my love for sports started, and I went on to play three sports in high school and then joining the military, now I am at college for my first semester. My favorite sports teams are the San Diego Chargers, Los Angeles Lakers, Los Angeles Dodgers, North Carolina Tarheels, and the New York Rangers. I know what your thinking, why am I a southern California fan when I live in Western New York? Well thats because of the family I grew up in, my father has been a fan of each of these teams since the 70’s and he picked them based mainly off of their jerseys. So i followed in his shoes and became a fan as well, but now to the sports section of this blog.

               So how about NFL Free Agency?? It started on Tuesday and there has not been a shortage of headlines that’s for sure! I have an opinion on signing players through free agency and I want you opinion. If it comes to a major name especially at the Quarterback then I understand dropping 100 million in a contract. However  I am a strong believer that good teams build through keeping their star players more than one contract and building through the draft NOT free agency. You often spend way more money through FA and end up over paying because of a bidding war and more times than not you get a dud. If you going to sign someone then I think the smart moves come in that second wave or the tier 2 players. You get them at a great price tag and they usually give more effort because less money is guaranteed and there are more playing incentives. Also there are those players who need a fresh start or are trying to recreate themselves and they tend to play harder as well and are less likely to be cancerous to the locker room. So with that being said what in the world are the Eagles doing? I hope Chip  Kelly really has this masterful plan because right now he just looks crazy, getting rid of your teams best qb, rb, and wr? all in one week, that’s absolutely unheard of. If this doesn’t work out then he just bought himself a ticket straight back to Eugene and the world of college football. I also wonder what is going on up in Buffalo. I totally get bringing in Lesean McCoy even with losing your best defensive player it still is good in my book. My question is Matt Cassel, do you think he is the future of this playoff hungry football team? If he becomes the starter then I think he becomes the leagues worst starter, I have watched more than a dozen games the past two years where Cassel was the starter and to be nice, he was god awful. So I hope he is just there for competition and they have a plan to bring in someone through the draft.

              My last topic I want to hit on briefly is Championship week in college basketball. What a fun time, some teams have no chance of making the dance without winning their respective  conference championship but every year there is a couple who win and “steal” a spot from an at-large bid. I love this time of the year! Does anyone else remember the Syracuse vs UCONN six overtime game back like 6 years ago I think? That might be the greatest college game EVER! I just love and buy into the whole cinderella story, or the underdog and especially if your team needs to win 5 games in 5 nights to make it into the tournament? Oh yeah that happens a lot too! I wonder though if anyone is going to take out Kentucky, it’s amazing what they have done this year by going undefeated so far and it looks like they are on a crash course for the title game next month. 

No matter what your favorite sport is, the month of March is going to be a lot of fun! The best part about sports is the element of surprise, the fact that you never know what is going to happen makes it just that much better.I am pretty excited to start this blog and hopefully get a few people on here who are mutually excited and want to talk the game of sports with me. A lot of the information I am going to post has a slight bias and is opinion based, but you cant be a freelance writer and not have some sort of bias! Well for those of you who read my blog thank you!! More stuff to come, I will mainly post once or twice per week with the exception of a major event that I just cant wait to talk about. Until next time!

-Jeremy



  

2 responses to “The madness of Sports in March

  1. I don’t knoW a lot about the draft or selecting better players but I do agree with your spending too much money on 1 player. If feel with too much money they feel entitlement and feel their are the best and don’t strive to be better.
    My crazy way of picking teams for March Madness ( it drives my husband crazy) is to pick where I would want to go on vacation. So sorry Gonzaga, you will never be my winning pick, lol. For the NFL, it’s by the color of the uniform. Just call it a womanly thing!
    In your blogs if you could touch upon the reasoning behind the way the draft works for those of us who have no clue would be great. Maybe then I would understand more and can then appreciate the game for more then the hometowns or jerseys.

    Like

    • Hey thanks! I have also got some feedback from a few other peopple and I would love to do a small bit on the NFL draft. So I will be doing one player per day of the draft and why he is the steal of the day and will go deeper into the draft while keeping it easy to understand. I am not saying I am a NFL agent but I do know quite a bit about the sport and have a big passion, so I will research until I have a great response to all questions I got! I will hopefully post before it gets too late tonight!

      Like

Leave a Reply

